Pregnancy & Parenting

Pregnancy Chiropractic

On Friday I was making a trip to visit with a friend in Red Deer (my previous home town of 10 years), so I decided to multi-task as I often do. While I have a couple chiropractors that I’ve seen in Leduc, I was hoping to find someone who has more experience and interest in prenatal care. I had a woman I liked in Red Deer that I decided to stop in and make an appointment with.

I’m so glad I did! I filled her in on the loss of my second pregnancy at 33 weeks (for the full story visit http://wentworthelliottnelson.blogspot.com) while she was doing my adjustment and she had some great advice for this pregnancy – which I was about 19 1/2 week along with. Her advice included:

  1. Get a doula,
  2. Take additional vitamin E,
  3. Look into consuming oxygenating foods and perhaps pure oxygen,
  4. Try hypnobabies for a coping method.

 

I was already considering getting a doula as my husband works and I’d like to have another person I can rely on 100% to be there for me at the drop of a hat. The chiro doctors suggestion stemmed from the idea that I may mentally live through my previous labour experience during this current one and cause the current labour to stall. I think that’s very feasible so it stepped up my desire to look for a doula and hopefully one with experience with a ‘rainbow baby’ (the baby that comes after a loss).

Additional vitamin E, I struggle with taking vitamins period but she suggested that i can help develop a physically stronger bond between baby, placenta and uterus. That’s a very appealling prospect so I’m going to look into it.

Oxygenating foods – I know practically nothing about this concept so I’ll need to do some research.

Trying hynobabies: I’ve read the book hypnobirthing before but I believe that the hypnobabies program takes it to the next level. I had been contemplating this option as well since I have had two failed attempts at getting a successful epidural (first labour stopped working, second labour didn’t have time to get it) so I thought it’d be in my best interest to really start looking for pain coping methods. I was going to look into that more during my second pregnancy as well but felt like I’d have more time to pursue it. I have two hesitations, one is cost and the second is that I’m not sure that I can put my confidence into those philosophies. But since I’m batting 0% on the epidural front, I really need to prepare myself.

P.S. The actual chiro adjustment was amazing as well!!!

Thoughts?

